Getting the hang of this doctor thing

I’ve had a good two weeks working at hospital. Well, actually, this week was much better than the first, but you get the gist of it. I’m finally starting to get the hang of it again.

I’m working at a psychiatric inpatient unit. So far I like it a lot. My attending has given me good feedback, at least for having been only my first two weeks. We’ll see if I can keep it up.

I had three patients thank me this week, which felt great. Then I had a patient get significantly better. He said his symptoms were the mildest they had ever been for the past 3 to 4 years. And he thanked me profusely, even said his mood was “excellent”. And guess who changed his medications? Me (with my attending’s approval of course).

I still don’t feel quite like a doctor, but I’ll get there. My attending keeps reminding me to present myself as DOCTOR Dana. I keep forgetting the doctor part, haha.

And I still feel like an idiot frequently, but less so this week at least.

I have a lot in my head regarding my work so far. My feelings and thoughts are very convoluted. I’ll post more about that this weekend.

As for my own mental health… I’m in a very good place right now. Been able to keep it up. No extreme homesickness so far. However, I’ve been terribly crappy at taking my Prozac. I forget every other day, practically. And then I go to hospital and make sure my patients take their medications so they get better and reach some stability. Geez, can’t even do that for myself.

But I’m OK…right now. I’m just worried about this becoming a slippery slope. I don’t have a psychiatrist or therapist yet in the city that I adore, and I’m starting to get worried. It’s not that I need one right now (although I am running out of meds…shit), it’s that I don’t want to fall in the hole and then be forced to look for one. I’d rather prevent all that from even beginning to happen.

But I’m so lazy you guys! Right now I have time to see a psychiatrist or therapist, but I’m so friggin’ lazy to go and do it. I’m so tired by the end of the workday (and my workday really isn’t that long, to be honest), I have no energy for doctors’ appointments. My work in the unit seems simple, but the truth is I’m always moving and always doing something.

There’s never a dull moment or no work to do. I didn’t think I’d get physically tired so easily at first, but oh how wrong I was…

 

6 comments
  1. This.shaking said:

    Dear Dr. Dana: Please take care of yourself. You owe this to your patients. How can you be there for them if you discombobulate? I write with tender thoughts for your patients – and for you. TS

    Like

    • Hey there! Thank you for reminding me! I’ve definitely gotta get on those psychiatrist/psychologist apppintments just to keep things in check 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Even though you are not my doctor, I thank you as well. We definitely need some more out there that have the same perspective that you do to offer better understanding and treatment.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. K said:

    I am SOOOOOOO happy that things are going well! But I always knew you’d be an amazing doctor 🙂

    It is terribly tiring though. You don’t know tired until you’ve been through residency. You will have the best and worst times of your life. But you will be better off for it 🙂

    What other rotations do you have? Where do you work for the majority of the year? How are the other residents?

    Like

    • Hey hun! On a hiatus from blogging as you might have noticed hy now. On medicine now. Having a hard time adjusting, honestly, both food wise and emotionally. But I’m holding on. We’ll see.

      My cointerns are awesome. My program is awesome. Just looking foeward to the end of this month for now, and then some more medicine come May :S yeesh

      Much love!

      Like

Leave a Reply

