It’s here

In two days I’ll be catching a plane to visit the Russian.

How did this happen? We were planning on seeing each other sometime in November. But the opportunity came knocking a bit earlier, so we agreed on my visiting him for a week and then leaving for my first interview (Nov 3rd). While he’s out working I’ll be working on interview prep.

I’m so excited to see him again.

But at the same time I am so scared. What the hell am I even doing? What got into me?

And I have no clue what to do for interview prep other than practicing potential questions and trying not to overdo the freak out. I’m scared…shitless. I have no idea how to impress these people other than looking professional and not doing something stupid.

R made me freak out on Thursday after she gave me pointers on how to answer the mental illness/leave of absence question. I got scared as soon as I noticed a bit of alarm in her attitude. She seemed like she was under the impression my head is up in the clouds. I think she was scared for me.

I have a week to get ready for this first interview. And I have no idea how to do this. Any help? Anyone? Please? 😥

2 comments
  1. Sophia said:

    Residency interviews are job interviews. You are there to convince them that you can do the job well. While it’s true that there is a stigma against mental illness versus other chronic illnesses, neither is an asset during an interview bc relapses are likely to occur especially during times of stress and/or sleep deprivation (ie residency). Your job is to convince your interviewers (if it comes up) why your LoA makes you a better employee/resident. Most psych residents are sympathetic towards patients with mental illness so I wouldnt focus on that. You could focus on the fact that your leave taught you stress management skills and to prioritize self care. Both of these are an asset bc they make it (if anything) less likely that you’d need time off during residency.
    Other than that, just relax and try to enjoy the process. I found interviews to be tiring but a lot of fun. Take my advice with a grain of salt as I’m just a PGY1 and feel free to reach out if you have questions about the process.
    Best of luck,
    Sophia

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sophia, thank you so so much. Your words and advice have such perfect timing. I love the way you gave it a sort of twist so it looks like something positive. Will definitely do that during interviews. How is PGY1 treating you?? Take care love xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

