Giving in to what’s real, unfortunately

I took a few security measures to feel a bit safer in the big bad internets. Will now be known as Dana, or Borderline Med, from now on. I got a bit paranoid having certain personal identifiers floating around for anyone to see. Any comments containing my previous pseudonym will be moderated (sorry!). You can still comment as much as you like and email me, though.

I’m a bit torn about this, because I would love to be completely honest about my identity on this blog, but the reality is stigma is still very much alive and well, as much as I love to fight that truth…and also mean people will always exist. Nothing happened to trigger this sudden change, I simply didn’t feel safe and want to avoid future problems now that I’m entering that stage in my career where stuff gets really serious.

Also, I’m torn because taking these “security measures” is, surprisingly, a trigger. I’ve already had problems with this in the past, I’m not interested in dealing with this ever again in my life. I’m not talking out of my ass when I say I have experience with mean people and have had to be cautious with my privacy before. Back when I was in the relasionshiT a lot of ugly stuff happened and I saw my privacy disappear in a matter of seconds. Let’s just say it included anonymous phone calls, anonymous letters, personal detectives, borderline-stalking, being taken pictures without my knowing, facebook profile hacking, fake email accounts….stuff fit for a movie. And imagine an 18 year-old going through all that. No wonder I’m screwed up in many ways.

I don’t want to go down that road again, and simply remembering all of that is truly painful. I’m rebuilding my life, my career and my future are finally in my own hands, and I’m free to live my dreams.

And since I’m having a good day, and don’t want to get triggered any further, I’ll leave it at that. Might get around to posting later.

Thanks for sticking with me all this time, I’ve had experience with mean people but the best is when you have many more experiences with good people. Thank you for helping reestablish my faith in humanity, seriously. ❤

434b9-anigif_enhanced-buzz-19422-1388871321-16

I’ve used this gif before, but I can’t get enough of it.

5 comments
  1. Hey, it’s like Obi-Wan said to Luke:
    “You must do what you feel is right, of course.”

    Don’t feel bad about protecting your privacy. It’s your privacy and you have a right to it. In fact, I think taking such a step is something to feel good about. You had a bad experience and you learned from it and you’re saying, ‘I won’t let this happen again.’ This probably won’t mean much coming from a stranger over the Internet, but I’m very proud of you for facing what’s happened to you and taking steps to ensure that it doesn’t happen again. That, my fellow WordPresser, is displaying confidence in yourself. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey there,
      “Coming from a stranger over the internet”, you made my day, seriously. I don’t know if you were counting on making someone feel better today, but you did 🙂 So, from stranger to stranger: thank you ever so much.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sophia said:

    Smart move. Your name is common enough but using first name + last initial publicly is a HIPPA violation for a reason. While I don’t think program directors will go hunting around on blogs, it’s better safe than sorry.

    Like

    • Hey, you are oh so right. I definitely don’t regret the decision. It was just unexpectedly triggering and difficult to deal with because it gave me a lot of flashbacks. But yeah, better safe than sorry 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

