Drugs

As usual, I can’t concentrate on studying, so I decided to write a little post about my meds. Please take into consideration I’m a patient like any other, and still a med student, so whatever I say here is just my personal experience and opinion. Talk to your doctor if you have any questions. Now, my meds…

Zoloft 100mg – Zoloft is an SSRI, or Selective Serotonin Reuptake Inhibitor. It basically lets serotonin, a neurotransmitter, sit for longer periods of time in neuronal synapses. I’ve been on Zoloft for about 7 months now. I was started on 50mg, which didn’t do much for me, and then changed to 100mg, which seems to be doing some magic. I only had side effects the first week, and it was mainly headache, nausea, and loss of appetite. For me, it has helped a lot with regulating my moods and, somehow, stabilizing my anger. I was a very angry person, but since I started on Zoloft I’ve felt that’s gotten better. It has also helped with anxiety. During my research internship this summer I had serious trouble setting foot outside my apartment. I thought everyone was looking at me and having to interact with people set me on panic mode. However, for my depression it just didn’t seem to be enough. So, my doctor prescribed me Abilify as an adjuvant.

Abilify 10mg – Abilify is an atypical antipsychotic. It’s used for a few conditions like bipolar disorder and also as an adjunct to antidepressants. I was started on 5mg and then switched to 10mg. To me, the Abilify+Zoloft has been a great combination. A few days after being started on Abilify I could tell there was a difference. Plus, I didn’t have any side effects. I felt lighter, and for now, the depression seems to be getting better (along with therapy, of course). I’ve been on this combination for about 3 months now, so let’s see what happens. It really has been a miracle for me. I’m not 100% better, but it’s definitely helping.

As an aside, I feel like I’m writing into a void. Anybody out there?

Leave a Reply

